Yummy new recipes

On my old blog, I wrote a long post about transfat.  I’m not going to climb onto that soap box now (I’ll save that for another post), but if you want to read about why transfats are so dangerous, check out this website.

A little over a year ago, I started trying to completely cut transfat out of our diets, including anything that contains partially hydrogenated oils.  We did really good for a long time, but since we’ve moved, I’ve been a little lazy and gone back to using box mixes for cornbread and refrigerated biscuits.  Well, it was partially being lazy and partially that I just like the taste of those things!  I didn’t have a good recipe for cornbread muffins – I like mine a little sweet – or for biscuits that were light and fluffy like the refrigerated ones.  So since Matt has been gone, I have been on a mission to find new recipes that I can make instead, without transfat, and I am happy to announce I have found two very good ones.  Definitely not the best I have ever tasted, but far and away the best I have ever made.  Seriously, when I made these biscuits last week, I ate eight of them in two days.  Mmm… I want to make more right now.  And the cornbread is pretty tasty too.

So here is a link to my new, very tasty, very light and fluffy biscuit recipe.  The only thing that disappointed me about this recipe is that they didn’t freeze very well.  I like to freeze rolls and biscuits when I make them so I can take one out and warm it up anytime I’m in the mood, and these dried out quite a bit when I pulled them out of the freezer.  Also, for these to be truly transfat free, you need to replace the shortening with butter.  I use Smart Balance, and it’s still tasty.

And here is a link to my new sweet cornbread muffin recipe.  There is a lot of sugar in this recipe, but it is so worth it.

Try them and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

