Our Thanksgiving Menu

So after hearing several horror stories about Thanksgiving grocery shopping here on Okinawa, I decided to get my act together and buy all of my non perishable items now. Seriously, I’ve been told the week of Thanksgiving, they will be sold out of canned pumpkin, turkey, stove top, cranberries, even butter, although they generally do have sweet potatoes available – purple Okinawa sweet potatoes.

I have never made Thanksgiving dinner. This is only the second year in seven years of marriage that Matt and I will not be spending Thanksgiving with our families. Two years ago, we were moving to Florida the week of Thanksgiving and living in a hotel. Instead of trying to prepare a meal in our hotel room, we went on vacation. We drove down to Tampa and spent Thanksgiving Day at Busch Gardens – which was a great idea. I don’t think we waited in line for more than 3 minutes anywhere that day. Unfortunately park closed at 6:00 and we ended up driving around for quite some time trying to find a restaurant that was open… any restaurant. We did finally find a very bad buffet (although they did have turkey).

But this year, I am planning on a traditional Thanksgiving meal.  I guess a “traditional” Thanksgiving meal is different for everyone…  I’ve planned for enough food for an army, but I’m not sure who is going to be sharing it with us.  We invited a few families from Matt’s squadron, so we’ll see who can come.  Here is my proposed menu – I might not make all of this, but I bought everything I need to make all of this, just in case.  I don’t want to change my mind at the last second and not be able to find corn.  Anyway, here it is:

The nice thing about this menu is that a lot of it can be made a day or two in advance, so maybe I won’t be too overwhelmed on Thanksgiving morning.  What do you think?  Too much?  Not enough?  Am I missing anything?

One thought on “Our Thanksgiving Menu

Leave a Reply

