Happy Halloween!

Matt is back in the states for some training, so for the third year in a row, he missed Halloween with us… At least he was here for Madison’s birthday this time, and this is definitely not the worst holiday he could miss. Luckily he hasn’t had to miss Christmas yet, and he did get to take her to a Halloween party on base before he left.

On the 30th, we carved pumpkins. Last year, my dad was able to visit a couple weeks before Halloween and carved a pumpkin with Madison, so this year, she kept saying how sad she was that Pap wasn’t here to cut everything. I think she thought I was incapable of carving a pumpkin, but it turned out really well.  Madison drew the face herself and I cut it out. And she actually reached in and pulled out some of the guts herself…

I also took Madison to a Halloween craft class on base the day before Halloween. They made bags for collecting candy. She made hers all by herself and was very proud of it.

Then, for Halloween, Madison was (surprise!) Supergirl! Maybe she has gotten all of that out of her system now. She was a very cute Supergirl though.

Our neighbor’s kids were Tinkerbell and a tornado. I thought the tornado was a very clever idea. I’m going to keep that in mind for the future (for any sons I might have…)

Halloween in Japan was… interesting. Apparently, Halloween is not something they traditionally celebrate here, but they all seem to want to. Americans can sponsor the locals onto base and they can go trick or treating here. And not just the kids – there were adult locals trick or treating too. Very strange. While we were trick or treating, I think I heard as much Japanese as I did English, and when I was passing out candy, kids were thanking me in Japanese.  Which was cute and was definitely a unique experience.  Unfortunately, I don’t know how to say Happy Halloween in Japanese. I guess they probably understood anyway…

FYI, all of our Halloween pictures are online at Flickr if you want to check them out 🙂

One thought on “Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

