My baby is five…

So apparently, November is National Blogging Month or something, and you’re supposed to try to blog every day for the whole month.  Since I’m not doing too good at updating and I really would like to do better, I’m going to try it.  We’ll see how it goes…  I’m already a day behind, but I didn’t know about it yesterday, so that’s okay, right?

Madison turned five last Saturday.  I can hardly believe she’s that old.  It definitely does not seem like it’s been five years since she was born.

In the past, we have always done family birthday parties, but this year we were too far away from home to do that.  Instead, we had a family party on Friday night, before her birthday, ate pizza (and dessert pizza), watched The Little Mermaid, and opened family presents.

Then on Saturday we had a party with some of her new friends in Japan.  She picked a Supergirl theme and we had it at the park, which was a great idea.  That saved a lot of clean up for me and Matt.  Although I will say, after our first real party experience, I am really glad that we don’t have to do that for another year.  Maybe we can make it two.

And by the way, here is the cake I finally came up with…

Not what I had originally planned, but not too bad either.  My mom was suitably impressed, and Madison loved it, which is all that really matters.

Normally on her birthday, we also go have birthday pictures taken, and we haven’t gotten around to that yet.  There really aren’t a whole lot of portrait studios around here, and the few I have found are outrageously expensive.  I think I’m going to try to take them myself, so wish me luck…

One thought on “My baby is five…

Leave a Reply

