Cakes and stuff…

So when we found out we were moving to Japan, one of the first things my mother said to me is “Who’s going to make Madison’s birthday cake?” Of course, my feelings were hurt, but she actually had a very good point. My mom makes amazing cakes. For example, here are Madison’s first three birthday cakes…

My favorite is the castle, and I would like to point out that I did help make the turrets. However, when you contrast that with the cupcakes I made for Madison’s fourth birthday – which by the way, I am almost embarrassed to show you…

I need some help. Of course Madison loved the ladybugs – you could tell they were ladybugs, right? – but I love fancy cakes. So as soon as we arrived here in Japan and I found out they had a cake decorating class on base, I signed up. Tonight was our second night and we made this cake:

If I’m being totally honest, I don’t think it’s much better than the cupcakes, but at least I am trying, right? I’ve got a few more classes before her birthday in October, so I’m hopeful. She asked for a Supergirl cake, so if you have any ideas on that, I would so appreciate it…

3 thoughts on “Cakes and stuff…

  1. I would suggest maybe doing an image transfer. I took a wilton class and all I’ve done since the class is image transfer cakes. Just find a picture online, print it out and transfer it. I have found that finding a picture out of a coloring book is easiest. IThey’ve got nice dark lines to trace. Good luck and let us know how it turns out!!

  2. here’s the plan for madison’s cake

    1. buy plane ticket for your mother
    2. have her make cake

    the end.
    –so that’s not really something that could potentially happen, but i do like the rainbow cake. Way better than any I’ve ever made đŸ™‚

    What is supergirl?

Leave a Reply

