Where are we now?

I don’t really have much to blog about these days since we are still on a break from school and haven’t really gotten any new information about when we might be leaving – although hopefully that will be happening today.  But I don’t want to get out of the habit of blogging, so here is a little bit of an update for you. 

Madison and I are staying at my mom’s house for the next week or so while Matt finishes up his training in Oklahoma.  He’ll be done with class on Friday and hopefully be done outprocessing by Tuesday.  After that, we’ll be spending about another week with his parents before heading to Japan.  It’s getting so close now!  I’m really excited, but it’s just now starting to sink in that in a few weeks, we won’t be in America anymore.  We won’t be able to see our families.  We won’t be here for Christmas.  That’s hard.

I’ve got 9 suitcases here at my mom’s – 2 bags to check for each of us and 1 carry-on for each of us.  Plus we can take the carseat in addition to that, so we are going to be loaded down. The sad thing is, I’m not sure that everything we have here is going to fit in those bags.  When they packed our house in Oklahoma City, I was still under the impression that Madison and I would be staying in the states for a while, so I kept way too many clothes and things out of our shipment. 

I’ve also been buying things to put in Madison’s carry-on to keep her occupied on the 13 hour flight to Japan.  I have quite a few things already, but if any of you have ideas, please let me know!  She rarely sleeps in the car and has never slept on an airplane, so I am not very optimistic about this situation.  At least Matt will be with me, so maybe we can take turns sleeping 🙂

Well, I am off to feed my starving daughter lunch and then try to pack some more!  I’ll update again as soon as we have news about the tickets – and hopefully that will be today!!

3 thoughts on “Where are we now?

  1. oh the logisitics and waiting of it all…you never get used to it! Maybe the wives should go through boot camp too!? LOL!

  2. I can give you a hint for the clothes situation. Buy you some space bags and you can fit more than enough clothes in the bags. We fit all of our clothes for 3 months in 2 suitcases with the space bags. That was also with me bringing not only the clothes Tyler could wear when we came, but also the clothes I knew he would grow into and is wearing now. They are well worth the money. Plus, they are a great way to store bulky things or out of season clothes at home. Just something to think about. Hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

