A bit of everything

Were you worried about me? It’s been more than two weeks since I posted something new on this blog!  I’m reverting to my old habits… We have had some crazy weeks around here, but hopefully I’ll do a better job of updating from here on out.

Where to start?  I have so much news.  Let’s see… I think we are taking an unscheduled summer vacation from homeschooling.  Two weeks ago, Matt’s little sister came to visit us for a week, and we skipped school.  Last week, my little sister and her best friend came to visit for a week, so we skipped school, and this week Madison is staying with her grandma and grandpa in Kansas, so we are skipping school.   This was not part of my plan, but I think it will be nice to have the break.  And since I am alone all week, I am hoping to get some planning done for starting school in the fall, and I am going to try to figure out how to customize my blog in WordPress.  So far, it is not feeling user friendly.

Yesterday, the movers came to pack out our apartment and today we officially moved out.  This might sound like great news, but I have really mixed emotions.  We thought Matt would be done with training this week, but it turns out his training was delayed again and we are going to be here for about another three weeks.  Of course, by the time we found out, we had already given our notice and scheduled the pack out date, so we were kind of stuck.  But, no big deal, I figured we’d staying in a TLF on base (basically a miniature house with dishes and everything) until we moved.  No such luck.  When we went to check in, they sent us off base to a regular hotel.  So for the next three weeks we are living in a hotel room.  We did have a little good luck last night – there was a leak in the room below us, so they upgraded us to a suite for our entire stay so maintenance could get in there.  The suite does have a bigger bathroom and a couch, so that is a plus, but it’s still just a mini fridge and microwave, so…  There’s also a pool and a complimentary breakfast, so I am thankful for those small blessings right now.  And I’m also wondering where I should do my laundry?  I so don’t want to go to a laundromat. 

And here is the most exciting news we’ve had in the last few weeks:  We’re going to have a new baby in our family!  After trying for nearly a year, we are so excited!  The next few months will be interesting as we move from here in Oklahoma to Kansas to Japan and I deal with different doctors, but it really did come at a great time.  Of course, after trying for so long, anytime is a great time, right?

4 thoughts on “A bit of everything

  1. CONGRATULATIONS ON GETTING PREGNANT!!! I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!! I just wrote about knowing so many people who are pregnant right now. I’m going to have to increase my number from 7 to 8. Yay for you!!!

  2. Holy Cow, Amy! That is GREAT news! Congratulations!!!!!!

    You guys have got quite an adventure ahead of you! I hope you enjoy every minute of it!

    Brittney

  3. WOW! AWESOME! God’s timing is perfect! Blessings on all your adventures to come!!! It will be one to tell the grand kids for sure!

  4. Congratulations!!! How exciting! A new baby! We wish you guys much love and happiness! Madison will be a wonderful helper for you too. She is going to be a great big sister! Enjoy your adventure, it’s going to be a good one!

Leave a Reply

