Red Rock Canyon State Park

Yesterday, my DH had the day off. Our original plan was to head to Frontier City since they opened up a few weeks ago, but when I went online to see what time they opened, I realized that they had opened for weekends only. Bummer. They don’t open on week days until after public school lets out, which completely foils my great plan to go during the week before school lets out.

Instead, my wonderful DH suggested a trip to Red Rocks Canyon State Park. He had been out there before with his dad, and I have been nagging politely requesting that he accompany Madison and I out there. It is about a 50 minute drive from downtown OKC, but I really think it was worth it. We had an absolutely fantastic day.

After a stop at Bass Pro to pick up the required fishing equipment, we headed west. Once there, we did some rock climbing, fished for a while (we only caught two), hiked up to the top of the canyon and looked out, and took the nature trail. We also searched for butterflies and inspected different kinds of trees. I think I probably saw at least six different kinds of butterflies, but I didn’t really get a good picture of any of them – primarily because we took Spencer (our dog) with us, and he really enjoyed chasing them away before I could turn the camera back on. On the way home, we stopped at the Cherokee Trading Post, where Madison picked out a copper/turquoise bracelet and I got a fantastic pair of turquoise earrings. They had a really nice selection of turquoise jewelry there.

So, for those of you in the OKC area, I would definitely recommend a trip to Red Rocks for a great nature filled day. You could:

  • Try some rock climbing
  • Go fishing
  • Camp overnight
  • Eat a picnic lunch
  • Bring your pet (as long as he stays on a leash)
  • Rappel
  • Take a nature walk
  • Hike
  • Chase butterflies
  • Stop at the Indian Trading Post on your way home for a great souvenir!

There is also a pool, which I assume is available in the summer, group shelters areas, and RV hookups. If we go back, I think we will bring a picnic lunch and spend a little more time there.

Here are some pictures from our trip:

To see all the pictures from our trip, visit Flickr 🙂

3 thoughts on “Red Rock Canyon State Park

Leave a Reply

