Why we homeschool…

A few months ago, I was watching some show on HGTV.  I have no idea what it was, but the homeowner was proudly showcasing her homeschool room and I thought “Wow, that’s really cool.” 

Now one thing you have to understand about me is that I had never considered homeschooling up to this point.  I have a Bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education and a Master’s degree in Educational Technology.  I have worked in public schools and am very pro public schools.  But later that night, I jokingly asked my husband what he thought about homeschooling.  To my great surprise, he said “I think it’s a great idea.  Let’s do it.”

At this point, I freaked out a little. I was just kidding, but seeing his response to the idea, I decided to look into it.  At the time, I worked full time as an Assistant Library Director, which gave me access to just about every homeschooling book ever written, which I then proceded to read.  The more I read, the more I thought this could really work for us, for several reasons.

First, my husband is in the military.  We have one daughter, Madison, who just turned 4.  Before her fifth birthday, we will have moved 5 times.  I think homeschooling is a great way that we can provide consistancy for her.  I won’t need to worry about what the school system is like where we move and I won’t have to worry about whether she is above or below the grade level at her new school.

Second, I like the idea of getting to choose what she studies.  As a former teacher, there are so many things I looked forward to doing in my classroom, but what greater place to use them than with my own kids?  I love the idea that I can teach all my favorite books, my favorite subjects, and hopefully give my daughter the same passion for learning that I have.

Third, I think it is a parents job to instill morals and values in their children and by educating my daughter at home, I have that opportunity.  While religion is not the main reason we chose to homeschool, I am infintely glad to have the opportunity to teach God’s word everyday, and show my daughter how to apply it to her life. 

I realize that there is a lot of opposition to homeschooling and as our homeschooling journey continues, I’m sure I will have the opportunity to blog about that as well.  I am looking forward to chronicling our homeschooling journal through this blog, for however long it lasts (and for those of you who know me, it may not last more than a year, but for now I am giving it my best effort).  I don’t expect that my blog will generate a lot of traffic, rather, I look at is as a way to first, keep me accountable by recording what Madison and I do each week, and second, to record my thoughts and think out loud.  So for whoever is out there reading this (and I imagine it will pretty much just be the grandparents), I look forward to starting this journey with you…

4 thoughts on “Why we homeschool…

  1. OK – not just the grandparents read this one! Thanks for sharing your story. I wish I’d seen the HGTV show. We’re remodeling now and I have a chance to set up our school room however I want, but creativity isn’t my strong suit!

    Blessings to you on your journey!
    Robin

  2. Hey girl! Great Post! I love reading how others get started in homeschooling. Its such an encouragment!

    I have been MIA over here for a bit! Then again, I have been MIA everywhere for a bit!

    How is life??

    Miss ya! Lisa

Leave a Reply

