A bit of everything

So I’m not really sure where to start here, since it’s been a month since I updated, and a lot has happened since then.  Madison was sick for 5 days with a fever of 104, and although I’m not trying to make excuses, I’d say that’s the main reason I quit updating for a while.  Then there were the holidays, and we were out of town for a week…  but we’re back now and while I’m not really doing New Year’s Resolutions this year, I am going to try to post on this blog 2-3 times a week.  That’s my goal.

We had a nice Christmas, although it was hard being away from family.  We were able to talk to Matt’s family on the webcam on Christmas Eve (Christmas Day for us) and it was nice to be a part of that even though we were so far away.  I’m going to share some pictures, but this is taking longer than I expected, so I’ll have to do it later this week.

On New Years Eve, Matt and I were invited to an afro party, which I thought was a really fun idea.  Everyone at the party had to wear an afro.  I might steal that idea and have one when we get back to the states.  I think this is one of the first times we have gone out on New Year’s Eve since Madison was born.  It was nice.  And the afro’s were hilarious…

Last week, we spent the week camping at Okuma, a military resort on the beach here on Okinawa.  It’s about an hour and a half away from where we live.  I’m not much of a camper, but we all had a really great week.  We stayed in a cabin there and did most of our cooking over the campfire.  Matt and Madison bought wetsuits so they could swim even though it was a little chilly, and we went up to Cape Hedo, the northern point of the Island.  I definitely think we’ll go back before we move, although next time we probably won’t stay in the cabins since we’ll have a new baby.  They also have regular rooms.  We took lots of pictures, so this is a pretty long slideshow:

We also stopped at The Butterfly Park on the way home from our vacation.  We’ve been studying butterflies the last couple of weeks in school, so this was our culminating event.  I was a little disappointed because there were only two types of butterflies, but it was still neat (although it would have been cooler if we could read the signs!).  We had a lot of butterflies land on us and saw some coming out of their chrysalises and letting their wings dry.  Madison really wanted to have butterflies land on her, but once they did, it kind of creeped her out.  She said they tickled and she was ready to leave after that.  You can see in some of the pictures she looks scared.

Finally, I got my haircut yesterday.  I hadn’t been brave enough to try a new hair stylist since we got here, but I finally had to just go get something done with it.  And I am happy with it.  It’s cut pretty much the same as it was before we moved.  Here’s a picture of the new hair, and although it’s not too flattering, a belly shot too.  Since I know you all want to see how chunky I’m getting.

And now we are back to our regular routine…  at least for the time being.  And as always, there are lots more pictures on Flickr if you want to check them out.

4 thoughts on “A bit of everything

  1. It sounds like you guys have been busy and having lots of fun. I love the room and Madison’s playroom as well. It will be nice to have a place that is all her own, especially when the baby is crying and she wants to get away. She will be a great big sister. Tell her we are thinking about her and we miss you guys.

    I love your new hair cut! You look so good! As for boy names, we struggled with that one too when we were naming Tyler. I have had a girl name picked out for years, but boys are hard for me for some reason. I am a little partial to the names Marcus (Marc) and Tyler now, of course.

  2. Glad to see you are back! I have been wondering how things are going. I think your belly is totally cute! Nothing better than a pregnant mama! Thanks for sharing all of the pics. :o)

Leave a Reply

